Elegy 4×22: I’m just a human being after all.


That's right, G-Woman.

Most X-Files episodes involve death but only a handful are actually about death. That makes “Elegy” pretty unique among the many variations of ghost stories in The X-Files’ repertoire.

Speaking of ghost stories, we haven’t had a proper one since Season 2’s “The Calusari” (2×21) believe it or not. Sure, “Kaddish” (4×12) brought a dead man back to life as a mud monster, but that’s not quite the same thing, now is it?

I don’t hesitate to say this is my second favorite episode out of writer John Shiban’s solo efforts on The X-Files. The last one he have us, “El Mundo Gira” (4×11), was a good idea but the story’s intentions became a little muddied in the execution. The next one coming up, “The Pine Bluff Variant” (5×18), is a humdinger and my favorite of all, but I digress.

The solemnity Shiban brings to his episodes, think “The Walk” (3×7) and “Teso Dos Bichos” (3×18), really works here because, well, it’s a story about death. More specifically, it’s about coping with death and even more specifically, it’s about coping with the upcoming death of one of our leads.

Memento Mori” (4×15) dealt with a lot of the issues that come up here in a more direct way, but since then, probably for the sake of not beating this storyline into the ground, we haven’t had much more than a passing mention of Scully’s predicament, if it’s even mentioned over the course of an episode at all. So we haven’t really had a chance to see how she’s progressing both in living with her disease and fighting it.

It would appear that nothing much has changed. Mulder hasn’t stumbled upon any answers in his precious X-Files, Scully goes back and forth to the doctor but all they seem to be doing is monitoring her, and Skinner hasn’t been able to pry any information out of Cigarette-Smoking Man’s wrinkled, cold hands despite the fact that he sold his soul to the man for Scully’s cure.

In other words, time is running out.

Surely, Scully realizes this and it’s her desire not to acknowledge the fact that death is imminently approaching that forms the basis for the sub-plot of this episode. Well, really, it’s the main plot, if you ask me. Everything else that happens feels more like an excuse to bring up Scully’s cancer. Not that ghostly apparitions in the neighborhood bowling alley don’t in and of themselves make for excellent television.

Scully’s in denial about seeing the dead girl because, well, she’s in denial about dying. Sure, in a detached, medical way she recognized immediately that this disease would kill her sans some kind of miracle. But even though she knows that fact she has so far refused to own it. We know that Mulder his holding out for a miracle, an answer, or a cure, but what is Scully holding out for? She’s in limbo between acceptance and denial. She knows she’s sick but she refuses to acknowledge it in some attempt to avoid any appearance of weakness.

The last time we saw Scully like this emotionally was in “Irresistable” (2×13), so how fitting then that her therapist from that episode, Karen Kosseff, should make a return appearance. Really, it’s just an excuse to allow Scully’s character to speak for herself since she’s usually defined so much by what she doesn’t say. But I love having a peak into what Scully’s thinking and I especially enjoy it when my suspicions are confirmed.

See, Scully does need Mulder. That’s why she’s still working on the X-Files. It’s so easy to understand why Mulder needs Scully since he’s really pretty pathetic without her. But so often when the writers go to explain why such a normal, well-adjusted human being as Dana Scully would stay by Mulder’s side her motivations turn into dangerously co-dependent mush.

I’ll save my arguments as to why Mulder and Scully being co-dependent might not be such a bad thing, but for now I’ll just say that even before her cancer arrived, it was clear that she got something out of her relationship with Mulder that she didn’t get elsewhere. Call it excitement, call it mystery, call it passion, it can have so many names. But whatever part of Scully that is a believer, the part that she normally subdues for the sake of science, that part of her that she still needs in order to survive, responds to Mulder almost against her will. And if her scientific mind won’t allow her to believe that her cancer is treatable, maybe the part of her that loved reading Moby Dick (“Quagmire”) and that still remembers what she learned in catechism (“Revelations”) needs to be around someone whose faith will nurture her own.

And the Verdict is…

I really, really like this episode. I like it especially because of how honestly it treats death and dying. People who are dying go through a grieving process themselves and the people around them don’t necessarily walk on eggshells to please them either, as the dying don’t automatically turn into saints. By the end of the episode, Mulder is openly frustrated with Scully, and perhaps out of his fear that he won’t be able to help her, he chastises her soundly for keeping him out of the loop.

I can actually understand that. Even though, mind you, Scully is the one who’s dying here. The thing is though, she’s not dying alone.

A

Questions:

Forgive me if my memory deceives me, but didn’t Scully have a vision of her father at the time of his death in “Beyond the Sea” (1×12)? He also was trying to tell her something. And now she’s having visions of the dead again so near the time of her own? You’d think that even if she were reluctant to confess the reality of the situation out loud, she’d have a hard time denying to herself what she’s seen.

Comments:

Scully looks way too uncomfortable in those bowling shoes. That’s what Mulder should’ve done for her birthday, taken her out for a good game.

There are echoes of “Roland” (1×22) here. Again, I’m impressed at how respectfully The X-Files was able to portray developmental disabilities.

Another reason I think this outing is more successful than Shiban’s previous efforts is that the plot isn’t weighed down at all by political undertones. Death is heavy enough without dragging politics into it.

There are so many repeat guest stars in this one I almost don’t know where to start. Angelo Pintero was also Dr. Bugger in “War of the Coprophages” (3×12). Martin Alpert was also in “Deep Throat” (1×2), “Sleepless” (2×4) and “731” (3×10). Kate Braidwood (Tom Braidwood’s daughter) makes and appearance in this one and will show up again in “The Pine Bluff Variant”. And finally, Harold’s attorney was the hilarious pathologist in “Shadows” (1×5) as well as Nurse Wilkins in “One Breath” (2×8). Not to mention, we’ll see her again in I Want to Believe.

Best Quotes:

Angelo Pintero: Look, I’m not making this up.
Mulder: No one is suggesting that you are, Mr. Pintero.
Angelo Pintero: I saw the look on her face.
Mulder: Can I ask you a favor? Can I get a soda, a cola, something like that?
Angelo Pintero: Sure. Yeah.
Mulder: What is that look, Scully?
Scully: I would have thought that after four years you’d know exactly what that look was.

————————

Karen Kosseff: You’ve kept working?
Scully: Yes. It’s been important to me.
Karen Kosseff: Why?
Scully: Why? Um… Agent Mulder has been concerned. He’s been supportive through this time.
Karen Kosseff: Do you feel that you owe it to him to continue working?
Scully: No. I guess I never realized how much I rely on him before this. His passion. He’s been a great source of strength that I’ve drawn on.

————————

Scully: I saw something Mulder.
Mulder: What?
Scully: The fourth victim. I saw her in the bathroom before you came to tell me.
Mulder: Why didn’t you tell me?
Scully: Because I didn’t want to believe it. Because I don’t want to believe it.
Mulder: Is that why you came down here? To prove that it wasn’t true?
Scully: No. I came down here because you asked me to.
Mulder: Why can’t you be honest with me?
Scully: What do you want me to say? That you’re right? That I believe it even if I don’t? I mean is that what you want?
Mulder: Is that what you think I want to hear?
Scully: No.
Mulder: You can believe what you want to believe, Scully, but you can’t hide the truth from me because if you do, then you’re working against me… and yourself. I know what you’re afraid of. I’m afraid of the same thing.
Scully: [Voice cracking] The doctor said I was fine.
Mulder: I hope that’s the truth.

28 responses to “Elegy 4×22: I’m just a human being after all.

  1. You know, I never stopped until now to realize what the episode title meant. Duh, now I realize it’s because it’s a reflection on death. I’ve always loved this one too.The characters are so memorable, Chuck, Harold, Angelo and even Nurse Innes.

  2. Totally agree with you here Salome, this is a splendid piece of work, elegant, beautifully performed and a good, scary little story, the hallmark of many a great X File and then there’s Gillian who is just wonderful and that final scene between her and David is one of their finest moments.

    The biggest mystery of all though is how did the guy who gave us Teso Dos Bichos end up giving us this lovely little masterpiece? An X File in itself if you ask me.

  3. I love the scene when Mulder and Scully are interrogating the Group home. After Mulder gets nowhere with his questions scully picks up a TV guide and shows a picture of Jay Leno and Says Does anyone know who this is?? they all say he did it, intermittently. One guy say, like he know it to be true because He smiles a lot! I still think its one of the funniest scenes in the X Files.

  4. Salome, you are right that this story is really about Scully and her fear of dying. Her unwillingness to talk to Mulder is difficult to understand sometimes (we saw this before in Never Again). Mulder is willing to help anyway he can, but she won’t let him.
    The scene with the therapist is really good. We learn how important Mulder is to Scully in the relationship. Nice shipper moment.

  5. Yep, she did have a vision/dream of her dad before he died.
    And in this episode, the imagery of the body in the bowling alley has stuck with me since the first run, so that must mean they did something right. Creepy, yet touching. A successful X-File.

    • Scully even mentions the vision she has of her father to Reyes later on in season 9. I believe at the end of “Dæmonicus.”

      Oddly enough after the shit-show that was season 7 (with the exception of a select few of episodes), me and the bf totally got back on board again in season 8. Weird how that happens

  6. this you greyghost I agree, this episode is emotionally charged, somehow catch a glimpse of why scully mulder refuses help, do not want to show weakness that needs much more than you think, as Mulder lose their fear overwhelms and there is no way to reach out and to save it.
    is a chapter that their main plot is the fear of both an event is imminent and can not give solution: face the death sentence has scully cancer and go on their way to pose this situation on a case of a killer in series.
    I love the performances of gillian and david and congratulations to the writer who performed to perfection and is one of my favorite episodes of the series, which is a bit complicated: =)

  7. Yes, loved this episode too. Gillian’s best work was in season 4 I think, and this was one of those episodes where I am in awe of her. That last scene with Mulder and Scully was a little heart-wrenching. I think Mulder is too harsh, he obviously knows what he is (somewhat) accusing Scully of is not true… he’s backed into this corner of his own fears over her cancer.

    I am going to have to look up which other episodes John Shiban wrote, aside from the ones you mentioned above. I really thought the writing was on-point in this one, the details were perfect.

    • I think this was his best work to date. It may even be better than “The Pine Bluff Variant” in terms of emotional impact and story, but the latter is more my style.

  8. I did love this episode but I had problems with the potrayal of persons with intellectual disabilities. It was a throwback to the dark ages having them housed in a psychiatric facility. Plus, they kept using the term mental disorder. Autism, PDD etc are not mental disorders. Maybe having people in a “mental hospital” plays on the fact that society is scared of someone who is different. I thought it was a bit of a cheap tool using that attitude to bring suspense to this episode.

    Overall it served to bring Scully’s cancer back and can build on that again.

    I hate to seem preachy but the nurse got what was coming, if only for using the “R” word.

    • Hmm, I read recently that some other critics felt that way too.

      I have a close family member with Downs Syndrome and a very severe form of Autism on top of that, so I’m pretty sensitive to these things. But I didn’t find it offensive.

      This is 1997 and I believe there was still some overlap in the care that was provided for the mentally handicapped and the mentally ill. For all I know, there still is. I don’t know how accurate it was to show everyone housed in the same facility, but I don’t think the show meant anything by it. If anything, they want us to be sympathetic towards them and to hate the nurse who mistreated them.

  9. I think this was the first episode of X-Files I really watched (I know I had seen Syzygy early on too, but can’t remember if it was when it aired, or as a rerun. Anyway, it scared me). But its funny, I had always just thought I started with a repeat of the season 4 finale leading into the ReduxI/II arc. During my rewatch I realized I had seen Elegy and Demons too, and these were actually the episodes initially that hooked me. And its no wonder. These were such powerful eps, and we get to see both characters go through so much pain and angst (delicious to a 13 year old). I had completely forgotten about both eps, but am so glad I rediscovered them. As if I needed any more convincing – Best show ever!

    • Yes! They’re both excellent episodes and not mentioned often enough. They did a great job Season 4 of ramping up the characters emotionally to the season finale. By the time we get there you can believe in where the characters find themselves psychologically.

  10. Pingback: 20 X-Files Episodes That Should Be on Your Top 10 List, but Probably Aren’t. | Musings of an X-Phile

  11. Pingback: Founder’s Mutation 1×5: You don’t like cats? | Musings of an X-Phile

  12. Everything has been said about this great episode, about the themes, relationhip between M&S, but I’d just simply add that I found Harold Spuller very touching in hiw own way, every time I have watched this episode.

    The actor did a terrific job.

  13. I love this episode for its focus on Scully and off course Gillian’s excellent performance. I wasn’t really a shipper nor a noromo (though not exactly neutral) until “Memento Mori” which brought me to the very edge of shipper territory. The ending scene between M&S in “Elegy” didn’t just push me over the edge but flung me far and deep into shipper territory. Gillian’s delivery of Scully’s last line to Mulder, “I’m going home” gets me everytime. It makes me wish she had someone to comfort her when she got home instead of an empty apartment awaiting her (and poor Queequeg won’t be there neither).

  14. I just read an interview with Duchovny – it was from years ago. In it he said that originally, Mulder was supposed to cry in this episode upon realizing Scully has been hiding issues with her illness. However, he didn’t feel that was right, so, instead, he wanted to play the scene as angry, because Scully was endangering herself & him by not being honest. So they let him play it that way, but he said he still thought it was a crappy episode (I think the man must be as moody as Mulder & clearly has no issues biting the hand that feeds him-then again, I think this interview was back around the time he was so sick of doing the show). So, now I shall watch it again for the 1st time in a while to make my own assessment.

  15. wow, just watched the first time; somehow missed it on my first go through; so priceless to find this gem. love Scully in this xx

You Know You Want To...

