A Second Brief Public Service Announcement


My Dearly Beloved Fellow X-Philes,

While I left with no explanation my return to the interwebs can’t go unaddressed, so here I go addressing.

First, I want to thank everyone for their prayers, which worked, their well-wishes, which were more encouraging than you can know, and their letters to my unpublished home address… which were creepy… but also encouraging.

I’m so, so sorry for worrying some of you. I really am. Some of you knew I was okay and where to find me (clearly). I can only say that I never intended to disappear! Pressing circumstances in my family related to both health and business forced me to stay away for a few days, then for a few weeks, and before I knew it, a few years had gone by. Ridiculous. I agree.

I’ve actually had reviews written that I just didn’t have the time to edit and publish. And now that things are a bit quieter, Lord willing, I’ll get those out and finally finish the entire series. Because, yes, The X-Files is that serious.

If you’ll bear with me, I’m going to try to get to every old comment and long-forgotten question. And if you’ll forgive me, might we not watch Season 10 together? Pretty please?

Yours in Mindful Geekdom,
Salome

44 responses to “A Second Brief Public Service Announcement

  1. You bet and I hope you’ll join us on Facebook and share your opinions and comments. Yes there’s an X file group on FB

  2. So good to have you back!! This is the best X-Files review site on the internet and your voice has been missed. I look forward to reading your new reviews and of course, discussing the new Files in 2 months!!!! Best wishes and serious thanksgiving to you, Vince

    • Vince, I give you threefold thanks. And if your last name is Gilligan, make it manifold.

      Regardless, I can’t wait to get back into it with you guys!!

      • Lol! My last name is Fanghella, which is cooler in some ways…but not as cool as Gilligan. If I was Gilligan, you’d have a cameo in the new eps. Don’t know if you listen to the X-Files Files w Kumail Nangiani podcast. It’s really a good and funny podcast and I write them occasionally and most times refer to your page. Again, glad to see ya back.

  3. Oh my gosh, I never thought this site would be updated again! Im very glad you are back and okay 🙂

  4. Glad you’re back! You’re been missed! We’ve been having a TON of fun on Twitter with the re-watch. We’re ready for more reviews, and even more ready for more X-Files! 🙂

  5. Welcome back, Salome! Your reviews are one of my happy places and I cannot wait to keep reading! You write SO beautifully! Here’s to the continuation of the X-Files!

    • River… Song, I presume?

      When geekdoms collide.

      Anyway, thank you, dear! I really do appreciate it! I’m getting psyched up for the new season.

      Wow… I can’t believe I just typed that sentence and it’s actually true.

      • I wish! I like to think it could be River Tam as well 🙂
        I cannot believe it either. I have to pinch myself every now and then. I mean, the X-Files! Mulder and Scully will be back on our screens in January! I can’t wait to share the experience with you and all the Philes out there!

  6. Pingback: A Second Brief Public Service Announcement | XInTheWindow

  7. Holy cow, WELCOME BACK!

  8. It’s so cool to hear you’re doing fine and actually … back. Just like the X-files. We’ll be here following your every review and (I suppose) trying to be less creepy in the future. 😉 Welcome back!

  9. I’m so happy you’re back, and just in time for season 10! I actually signed up for e-mail alerts so I’d know if this site was ever updated again, and it was so nice opening my e-mail today and seeing your PSA. I absolutely love your reviews!

    • When I came back to the site and saw all the email subscribers I did a cartoon double take. So that was you!!

      Thank you for the love!

      • I did the exact same thing so was overjoyed when I got an e-mail telling me you had posted on the site again, glad you’re well and may the amazing reviews continue 🙂 countdown to season 10 begins!!

        • So it was you too! I’m so excited you guys are still here! Can you believe we have less than 2 months?

        • I did that too! And if I actually checked that email more often, I would have known about your return a WHOLE TWO WEEKS AGO. But alas, I’m just finding out now. Welcome back!

          I feel like you had turned into an x-file yourself. That’s one case officially solved! :p

  10. DUDE!
    Welcome back.
    I’ve got another Duchovny related post coming in the next couple of months.
    Missed you 🙂

  11. MARIA SOLEDAD Calvo Herrera

    Welcome back!!!!! Let’s enjoy the new announcements together with your wonderful reviews!

    • Thank you!! I had the new trailer on repeat yesterday. I never thought, I mean never, that I’d hear, “I’m Agent Scully. This is Agent Mulder,” again. At best, I was hoping for a third movie where they were still out of the FBI!

  12. I’m beyond excited to read more of your reviews. You’re so funny and insightful. I’m at the end of season eight (my 5th or 6th series re-watch) and I’m interested to hear your views on the absence of Mulder and addition of Doggett. Welcome back!

    • You mean the one foot in, one foot out absence of Mulder? (Spoilers)

      Thank you so much and I hope you’ll share your thoughts too when we get there!

  13. Ohhh I’m SO happy to see you are back and doing well! I came across your reviews a couple of years ago while doing an X-Files rewatch and was so sad (also worried) that you stopped, you became some sort of virtual companion during that time. Ok, that sounds dramatic but, hey, I don’t have any X Philes among my friends. When the revival was confirmed and I started rewatching again, I secretly hoped that you would come back for the revival and here you are! Thank you for your wonderful and spot on reviews, welcome back Salome!

  14. KevlarPromDress

    You rock! Thanks for coming back!

  15. I missed you so much! This website has long been on my list of “Things I wish were still going on” and now here you are again! This encourages me to actually get around to rewatching the later seasons. 🙂 Glad to see you back!

  16. YESSS! I kept checking, just in case…so glad you’ve returned!

You Know You Want To...

