Home Again 10×2: You’re gonna be all right now.


HomeAgain15.jpg

The thing about raves is that they’re shorter than rants. So I warn you right now that I don’t have much to tell you. There wasn’t a whole lot of deep observation going on as I watched this episode, just pirouettes and prancing.

You would think, you would think, that the episode where Maggie Scully dies would have left me feeling bereft and befuddled with tears. If I adored Maggie Scully, then what’s with the goofy grin on my face that won’t be suppressed?

I can’t help it. I’m home again.

I’m Special Agent Dana Scully and this is Special Agent Fox Mulder.

And we’re done here. My life is complete. That one initial shot of the two of them was worth both the eight year wait after I Want to Believe AND having to sit through all of Season 9. I actually had to fan myself. With a literal fan. It has red and pink flowers on it.

I knew within the teaser, when that classic Mark Snow soundtrack started playing, that this was the direction I personally needed to show to go in. And within the first two minutes of Mulder and Scully on the case, barring any fourth quarter fumbles, I knew this was going to be in the A range. Here’s your one chance, Fancy. Don’t let me down.

Then Petula Clark gave a post-mortem comeback performance and it was all over for me. Diegetic music hasn’t been used to send a victim to the River Styx like this since “Kill Switch” (5×11). And of course, we can’t forget the legendary use of “Wonderful! Wonderful!” in “Home” (4×3), which is what we’re obviously intended to remember.

Oh, wait. I’m sorry. I take that back. This is when it was all over.

Scully: Back in the day, didn’t we ever come across the ability to just wish someone back to life?

Mulder: I invented it. When you were in the hospital like this.

Scully: You’re a dark wizard, Mulder.

Mulder: What else is new?

Yes, we’re only halfway through, but I’m already quite certain that this will remain my favorite moment of the revival. Nay, but this dotage of mine o’erflows the measure. This may very well go down as one of my favorite Mulder/Scully moments in the entire series.

Speaking of Mulder’s mysterious powers and mysteriously well-placed flashbacks, this probably should’ve been called “One Breath Again”. I just can’t get over the looks on their faces as they both remember the events of that episode. See? This is what I’m talking about: the way they bring their entire history into their every interaction. This is what I’ve been missing. No, some emotional context is not too much to ask for.

On that note, this very history and context is why the “breakup” as such is an exercise in dramatic futility. Their “relationship” is their history; it’s their partnership. A casual viewer can see clearly that there’s a connection here that goes as deep as the ocean, and no amount of surface level machination is going to penetrate that depth. It’s also a connection that need not be worn on the surface. It needn’t even come up in onscreen conversation as an issue, as it didn’t here and no one missed it. For Spock’s sake, no one wants to watch them play at playing house. Just let them be.

And is it just me, or is this the first time this actually feels like a natural continuation of the series proper rather than an exercise in nostalgia? I feel like tapping complete strangers on the shoulder and saying, “This is my show,” not, “This is The X-Files: Millennial Edition,” or “This is The X-Files: Alt-U Version ft. Mulder and Scully Wax Figures.”

If the characters came back last episode, the show itself is back in classic form now. Yes, it’s modern, updated and evolved. But all the round pegs are going into round holes again.

You’re responsible. If you made the problem, if it was your idea, then you’re responsible. You put it out of sight so that it wouldn’t be your problem, but you’re just as bad as the people that you hate.

That was deep, Scully. You wouldn’t be talking about Chris Carter and you and William, would you? Call me crazy, but I find this episode more emotionally on point than “Founder’s Mutation” (10×5) which read more like a dirge than a reckoning. Here Scully is finally coming to grips with having abdicated responsibility for William, and to unsuspecting, ill-equipped strangers at that. Well, she sort of does, anyway.

I know now why Mom asked for Charlie, even though he was out of her life. She wanted to know before [s]he left that he’d be okay. She gave birth to him. She made him. He’s her responsibility. And that’s why she said what she said to us. She wanted to make sure that we’d be responsible, and know that William’s okay, even though we can’t see him. I know that as parents we* made a difficult sacrifice to keep him safe, that it was for his own good to put him up for adoption. But I can’t help but think of him, Fox {Ew}. I can’t help it. I believe that you will find all of your answers. You will find the answers to the biggest mysteries and I will be there when you do. But my mysteries, I’ll never have answered. I won’t know if he thinks of me too or if he’s ever been afraid and wished that I was there. Does he doubt himself because we* left him? What questions does he have of me? The same that I have of this coin? And I want to believe, I need to believe, that we* didn’t treat him like trash.

Whoa, Nelly. You hold it right there, Miss Uber M.D.. “We???” Wherefore comes this “we”? Not to guilt trip you or anything, but “we” didn’t give William away. “We” weren’t there. You were there. I know. I was there. I watched Chris Carter make you do a bad, bad thing. But thanks ever so for at least again acknowledging Mulder’s presence in the sacred bed.

When it comes to responsibility for William being gone, it’s a convenient “we,” but when it comes to what or who William needs she reverts back to the singular. I forgive you, Scully.

I don’t know about you, but for me it’s always a good sign when I start yelling at my television screen.

Verdict:

Yes. Yes. Absolutely, yes. Never leave me again.

I’m dang sure going to miss Maggie Scully and Sheila Larken’s memorable performances. But if she had to go out, at least she went out right. Only after having watched Season 9 can you appreciate the magnitude of that.

And it’s true that as much as we may love our families, when it comes to our parents especially, there are parts of one another as individuals that we can never know. There was more to Maggie Scully than Scully could ever hope to find out. And there’s more to Scully than William will ever realize.

Now, you heard Maggie. Go get your boy.

A

Comments and Commentary:

That’s the darkest ICU I’ve ever seen.

1 demerit for Scully calling Mulder “Fox.”

“I didn’t bring him here. He came to me!” – My review of “William” (9×17) in a nutshell.

I don’t know what those shots are called when they strap a camera around the actor’s waist, wind them up and let them go. But I rarely find them effective.

Let’s take a moment to honor Scully’s palpable relief at Mulder showing up when she needed him.

We’re due for another reckoning: Does Scully resent the time she spent away from her mother and her family for nothing?

Who would put their brother’s full name in their phone like that?

For a second I thought this might be a new take on “Salvage” (8×10). If you’ve seen one garbage man you’ve seen them all, right?

Note the cleverly subtle correction of The X-Files previous treatment of the Tulpa myth. Though I think Mulder may have been closer to right back in “Arcadia” (6×13).

There are also deep echoes of “Milagro” (6×18) here…

Mulder: Did you direct him to do it?

Padgett: Jungians would say it’s the characters who choose the writer, not the other way around. So I guess you could argue he directed me.

49 responses to “Home Again 10×2: You’re gonna be all right now.

  1. YAYAYAYAYAY!!! I eager to read your review on this one. And I completely agree.

    When she called him a Dark Wizard I literally shrieked.

    And the scene between them when they’re hauling Maggie away was gut-wrenching and beautiful. Gillian Anderson is flawless.

    And yes, “1 demerit for Scully calling Mulder ‘Fox'”; that made no sense to me and kinda jolted me out of how emotional that scene was.

    My only other complaint is that I want more Skinner.

  2. Nailed the review.

    When I read this:

    “And is it just me, or is this the first time this actually feels like a natural continuation of the series proper rather than an exercise in nostalgia?”

    I was “YES”. That is EXACTLY what I said to my self. Well, not exactly but you get the idea. This was the first episode of the revival that felt like seasons 1-6 that I have just been watching.

    The conversation at the bedside of Maggie was…natural. It was like two old comrades and lovers who just fall into it like they never left. I think, if we’re lucky, we have one friend that we can do that with. That is what that felt like to me.

    As I mentioned on another seasonal episode. This was a reflection of other Tulpas we’ve seen in the XF. That aspect was not as interesting as the points you bring up vis a vis shipping and chemistry…plot and continuation of the story.

    • Right! It doesn’t feel like something completely separate that you can take or leave, but more of a natural evolution without which the story isn’t complete. I am one very satisfied Phile.

      The conversation at the bedside of Maggie was…natural. It was like two old comrades and lovers who just fall into it like they never left. I think, if we’re lucky, we have one friend that we can do that with. That is what that felt like to me.

      Two hands in the air and “yes.” No stilted or overblown dialogue. No unnecessary relationship drama. Just the very natural rhythm that’s theirs alone.

      And it’s true that even though they brought back the Tulpas, it’s slightly less philosophical since the focus is less on the power to create than on the obligation to take responsibility for one’s creation. I suppose that’s philosophical too, but it’s much more practical a chore.

      • “And it’s true that even though they brought back the Tulpas, it’s slightly less philosophical since the focus is less on the power to create than on the obligation to take responsibility for one’s creation.”

        =========================================================

        I agree, yes.

        Milagro is an entirely different animal and presents a lot of depth into the philosophy of what is reality than Home Again did. This episode used it as a plot device to reflect the homeless as something of no value, invisible while in reality they are always there. I guess kind of like what Scully says about William at the end.

        • Yep. Which is really also what the genetic experiments were used as for “Founder’s Mutation”, a way to explore William. But this is somehow much more satisfying all around.

    • “The conversation at the bedside of Maggie was…natural. It was like two old comrades and lovers who just fall into it like they never left.”
      John, what a beautiful way to capture those moments. Even Mulder’s quiet chuckle when he said, “So what else is new?” felt true to the brief flashes of coping-humor a family experiences during a bedside vigil.

  3. “And is it just me, or is this the first time this actually feels like a natural continuation of the series proper rather than an exercise in nostalgia?”

    Not just you. ❤ How are we so of the same mind on these matters? I'm so grateful to have found you and your reviews.

  4. This episode had such a complete feel. The most “natural” XFiles episode so far. Along with the last episode, I feel this one fits into the original series perfectly and THIS one even more so. I think I feel like that because the comedic episodes were like small gems in a season but stories, character dynamics and connections in this episode were often occurrences each season (minus latter years). I’m sad there are only 2 more. I wish they could have gone to 10 like an HBO show or something. I hope the Fox execs are finalizing contracts for season 11.

    • “I hope the Fox execs are finalizing contracts for season 11.”
      I’d love to see the writing responsibilities a bit more *ahem* evenly distributed. And can’t Vince Gilligan just throw an outline or three in 2xMorgan’s direction? They could co-author something close to VG-worthy. (Close?)

    • I’d be surprised if they haven’t already started preliminary negotiations. And I think you’re right, that as much as I agree that everyone needs a life and GA and DD have plenty of other meaningful things they should be doing, 10 episodes would give the show just enough time to create a real emotional arc. And then, the duds hurt less when you know there are other episodes to choose from!

  5. After my initial “OMIGOD that felt 100% X-Files for the first time!” I developed a love/hate relationship with this pro-shippy episode. Glen mentioned in an interview with US Weekly or Entertainment Somethingorother that he wished he had more scripts to write rather than what was effectively putting 10 pounds in a 5 pound bag. I read his observation and promptly yelled at the screen “then why did you?!?!?!”

    The time expended on the Trash Man storyline could’ve (would’ve, should’ve) been better spent in more of a “One Breath” scenario in which my beloved Maggie Scully could have had more than one sentence before shuffling off this mortal coil. I was never attached to Mulder’s family (to include Samantha tbh) or Melissa in the way that I was immediately in love with Maggie Scully from her first scene in “Beyond the Sea.” Sheila Larken played Maggie with such quiet grace and dignity; she radiated a genuine warmth. I loved seeing her with Scully but even more so with Mulder. She provided him with a parental warmth he certainly didn’t get from his parents. I loved hearing her call Mulder “Fox.” I loved the moment in “Memento Mori” when she stormed into Scully’s hospital room, betrayed by Scully’s omission of her cancer diagnosis and filled with fear she may lose her daughter, “the strong one.”

    What I wanted was for Maggie Scully to have been more than the angsty plot point that I cynically anticipated when I read that Sheila Larken had signed on, I wanted Maggie to be more integral to the story than the B-plot to a so-so MotW. Bill Scully’s death was integral to the case in “Beyond the Sea” as Luther Boggs leveraged Scully’s anguish to manipulate her feelings throughout the investigation, even appearing to her as her father. There was no such tie-in with this episode and the result is Maggie Scully as a person (not as a death event) did not receive the weight in the story she so richly deserved.

    With that out of the way OH.MY.SWEET.DEAR.LORD this episode felt 100% like an actual X-File episode! This is why I begged and tweeted for a revival!!! Whether it was a great MotW or not, Glen Morgan let Mulder and Scully do what they do best: each other. (Only worthy of a single entendre because a dirty mind is a terrible thing to waste.) “You’re a dark wizard, Mulder” and the I’ll Stop the World and Melt With You “I’m here” moments sent me right back to 1994 watching “One Breathe” when it was made oh-so-clear: these are two people whose bond cannot be understood by mere mortals. This is the #MSR. This is all I ever wanted and needed from this six episode revival. I needed to see the joy of Darin’s “This is how I like my Mulder” coupled with the intensity of their ship in Glen’s “I’m here” moment, the “dark wizard” moment and the “RIGHT NOW!” moment. Oh, you Morgan Boys and your stranglehold on my emotions.

    Mulder and Scully in all their relationship glory. I have come home again.

    “I’m dang sure going to miss Maggie Scully and Sheila Larken’s memorable performances. But if she had to go out, at least she went out right. Only after having watched Season 9 can you appreciate the magnitude of that.”
    – I’m thankful to say I cannot appreciate the magnitude because ignorance remains my bliss.

    1 demerit for Scully calling Mulder “Fox.”
    – this was one of those “hate it when the fans know it better” moments, Glen was apparently surprised she hadn’t called him “Fox” since Tooms. Glen, repeat after me: “X Files wiki.” Getting so much right in this episode and this very basic naming convention SO WRONG. Felt like a moment of whiplash.

    Our son/my baby
    – I think this also may be as much Glen’s ignorance of the Dark Times, he said he had to run through a lot of episodes to get caught up on the William storyline. Perhaps he blacked out during portions of this re-watch (understandable), hence the confusion.

    Now, you heard Maggie. Go get your boy.
    – Salome, must you also make me cry? I wish they’d had decided this was the focus from the outset because Mulder and Scully would go to the ends of the earth for their child. Period. End of Story.

    • Glen mentioned in an interview with US Weekly or Entertainment Somethingorother that he wished he had more scripts to write rather than what was effectively putting 10 pounds in a 5 pound bag. I read his observation and promptly yelled at the screen “then why did you?!?!?!”

      It *does* feel like these episodes are almost too packed with information. But I thought the limited number of episodes was mostly due to DD and GA’s other acting and family commitments?

      I really do wish there had been more time for Maggie, but I did think the suddenness of it, and even the incompleteness of it, felt like something The X-Files would do. But if that had been all she got *and* the episode had been otherwise unsatisfying, it wouldn’t have flown.

      On the shippy note, it’s funny because I didn’t really read it as shippy per se. It’s more along the lines of Season 2 Mulder and Scully (“One Breath”? Coincidence? Never!). And by that I mean that a la “Irresistible” and the afore mentioned ep, it’s not overtly romantic. What it does is clearly demonstrate that these two “have” each other and that they need each other and that they’re perfectly okay with that and that Chris Carter needs to stop it. I love it.

      Glen was apparently surprised she hadn’t called him “Fox” since Tooms.

      Dude…

      he said he had to run through a lot of episodes to get caught up on the William storyline. Perhaps he blacked out during portions of this re-watch (understandable), hence the confusion.

      If he had to binge watch the post-Requiem mythology, I feel sorry for him.

      Salome, must you also make me cry?

      Yes.

      That should have been their mission from “The Truth” on.

  6. I think it’s sexy when Scully calls him “Fox”. 😉

    But really, it made sense to me why she did that. He called her “Dana” when Bill Sr. died.

    • That’s what I was thinking–it has been known to happen that they call each other by their first names, so it didn’t feel too jarring to me, especially in a moment of intense emotion.

      Especially since his “I even made my parents call me Mulder” turned out to be totally untrue, if I remember correctly.

      • Yeah, Mulder was fibbing to get Scully to stop it. But she did stop. Interestingly enough, it was in “One Breath” that corrected Maggie Scully, “Not ‘Fox.’ ‘Mulder.'”

        She hasn’t called him “Fox” since “Tooms”. And he hasn’t called her “Dana” without humor or irony since his awkward attempt at familiarity in “Beyond the Sea”.

        It’s not the worst thing ever, but it doesn’t quite feel natural.

        • Wow, really?! I thought for sure he’d called her Dana more than that but I think you’re right! This blew my mind.

    • True, but she rolled her eyes at him!

  7. “1 demerit for Scully calling Mulder ‘Fox.’
    – this was one of those ‘hate it when the fans know it better’ moments, Glen was apparently surprised she hadn’t called him ‘Fox’ since Tooms. Glen, repeat after me: “X Files wiki.” Getting so much right in this episode and this very basic naming convention SO WRONG. Felt like a moment of whiplash.”

    Thank you, Steamgrrl. I feel the exact same way. Whiplash is the best way to describe it. It was all so perfect and that last scene on the log was so emotional and focused and then her calling him “Fox”… it didn’t ruin it for me at all, it was still so fucking amazing, but it did briefly remove me from the situation and forced me, for a moment, to think about why she said that at this time and place. And I couldn’t find an answer to that that I liked so I let it go because I didn’t want it to ruin the rest of the scene…

    • Yes! It didn’t kill the mood completely, but it did make me snap to attention for a sec. Even if Glen didn’t realize, how is it that no one said anything about it from script to screen?

  8. Philes, here is the interview with Glen I referenced earlier which includes the “Fox-not-since-Tooms” and “more episodes” remarks:
    http://www.ew.com/article/2016/02/08/x-files-glen-morgan-home-again-postmortem

  9. This was really an enjoyable episode. I agree with Steamgrrl when she said the time spent on the trashman storyline could have gone to better use. I found it distracting, and almost like a different episode than the Maggie Scully storyline, which I Ioved.

    This episode was like a darker, more grotesque version of Arcadia for sure. It’s almost as if back when they were working on the garbage Tulpa idea they came up with two versions, ultimately going with the lighter, shippy version, and now they’ve done the other. But yeah, I was bored at the idea of an idea incarnated ripping people apart. I think M and S were too.

    I found it funny that M

  10. Sorry…
    I found it funny that Mulder could remember the year that “tulpa” was mistranslated but forgot that they had already dealt with one and that, yeah, they can harm and kill people.

    • The character may not have forgotten so much as Glen Morgan decided not to deal with the history of Tulpas on the show for the sake of story flow and time. But it’s true that it would mean Mulder’s theory on the events of “Arcadia” would then be false and he would have had to have formed a new one.

  11. Oh thank God you made this an A. This has been my favorite episode of the season. And truth be told, I interpreted the dark wizard scene SLIGHTLY different. I saw it as, “I invented it… when you were in the hospital… like this” and the like this was Mulder demonstrating how he willed her back to life. Either way, it goes down as one of my favorite interactions ever between the two, but is second to Scully pleading to drive to Philadelphia.

    That has to be one of the most heart wrenching things I have ever seen from TV. Scully has always done this. Mulder immediately collapses and needs a night to kinda recenter. Scully goes right back to work, every time. This is the most vocal Mulder has ever been in trying to stop her, and his exasperation/desperation are palpable.

    Also, Downtown. Holy goodness, I wish I could express how much I disturbingly like watching people murdered to cheerful music. And Scully taking that dude down and jacking his gun, YES THANK YOU MY LIFE IS COMPLETE with Awesome! hashtag Scully.

    I didn’t mind the “Fox”. I really didn’t. Unfortunately, for better for worse, canon has established they can be somewhat weepy towards each other, as lame as this is. And honestly, I’m sure if this were real life, the more mischievous side of Scully that likes Tofutti Rice Dreamsicles would have been plenty brave enough to hurl Foxes around back in the day. Maybe not in front of the camera. Either way, it makes me wince but only in the way tequila does.

    I also have a slight aside to a lot of the reviews of Mulder being silent and almost impartial to everything through this season. The convo on the log, I think, Duchovny plays beautifully. For me, this conversation is where Mulder has finally learned to shut up. And all he really needs to say, he says when he tries NOT TO TALK, or when he makes eye contact with Scully. My favorite moment of the talk is when she says that when he discovers his truths, she will be there with him. He turns and looks at her in that puppy dog, “You will?” sorta way. *sigh* Yes Mulder, she is going to keep following your crazy and insane theories and she will be there when you figure it all out. Haven’t you figured that out by now?

    • Omg the way he looks up at her when she says she’ll be there when he discovers his truths — 100%, absolutely perfect. Nailed it. That last scene was wonderful (I also didn’t terribly mind the “Fox” although obviously I much prefer their use of surnames). And the last shot, of them together on the log looking out at the sea — beautiful.

      • I think the hardest scenes for actors must be the ones were they can’t use dialogue. Like I’ve been known to say, sometimes the fans sleep on DD, but he can do it all with his eyes.

        • He really can and a lot of his best scenes are silent or near so. This one goes above and beyond in my opinion. Filled with wonder, “She’s with me?” filled with sadness, “I can’t help but think of him”, filled with every emotion he an express without words. There has been some upset on his inability to distinguish characters, but good Lord people, the man can act with his eyes.

    • I wish I could express how much I disturbingly like watching people murdered to cheerful music.

      Maybe we should start the Emotionally Disturbed Television Watchers Club, because the “Wonderful! Wonderful!” scene from “Home” is still one of my favorite moments in the entire series.

      And personally, I’ve ALWAYS felt that DD plays silences beautifully. Let me clearly announce my bias and say if the scene doesn’t play beautifully, he’s not into it. And if he’s not into it, there’s a darn good reason.

  12. I also loved this episode. Although, TBH, I agree with others who have noted that this would have benefited from being two separate episodes — both the MOTW and the Maggie Scully stories were so, so good, but did feel a little smushed together. How awesome would it have been if we had gotten two fully fleshed out episodes from this, one after the other, with the themes tying back together? (Especially since I could have done without Babylon.) I also felt that the themes were a little heavy-handed for my liking, and for The X-Files — “People treat people like trash!” and “You are responsible!” (which, btw, is not even helpful information to have on a sign that is supposed to be about evacuation, no wonder the homeless people didn’t go anywhere) — yeah, yeah, yeah, we get it.

    With that out of the way. . . . This episode was classic and dark/morbid/creepy in such a wonderful way. That first shot of them at the crime scene? Yes please. Playing “Downtown” during Stepford wife’s death at the hands of Trashman? Oh don’t mind if I do. Scully being a total badass and incapacitating that guy in 2 seconds flat? Much gleeful flailing and rewinding. Almost simultaneous clicking-on-of-the-flashlights? MORE OF THIS.

    And, of course, the exchange over Maggie’s bed, Mulder grabbing Scully and hugging her to him so she wouldn’t have to see her mom’s body being taken away, her “I have to work RIGHT NOW,” and of course, my favorite, Mulder’s “I’m here” and Scully’s reaction to it. Stick a fork in me, I’m done. These two. I can’t. And, best of all, as you noted, the whole thing just felt so right and effortless — like we really were home again.

    Now, at the risk of making this comment novel-length, I have to say that this episode also made me think a lot more about this stupid “break-up” — which I am and always will be against because HAVE YOU EVEN SEEN THIS SHOW CHRIS CARTER — and why they chose to go that route and where it might lead, both for M&S and for the series. I’m genuinely curious, do people think that the choice to have them break up was just to “make it more interesting” (blah) and try to recapture the will-they-won’t-they magic of the original series? (Which, dumb.) Or a more conscious choice that was intended to reflect the fact that neither of their individual character arcs were wrapped up in the series in a satisfactory way that would have allowed them to be truly free and happy?

    Truthfully, I think they both need closure to William’s story, and gosh it would really be nice if they could uncover whatever government conspiracy is actually afoot and do something about it. The “Maybe there’s hope” was a lovely line and sentiment to end the series, but there could have been a more satisfying ending where they actually made a difference. And yes, I can see how the series finale might have left Mulder in a bad place where he was depressed and didn’t feel like he had a purpose. (Like, Mulder, come on. You cannot just sit around in your newspaper-clippings cave all day. You need a fulfilling job that engages you, do you know nothing about yourself??) I mean, I loved the last scene of the series, but IWTB seemed to make it clear that Mulder wasn’t able to move past the failure of his previous life/career, which I get, and is believable to me. (I still think that the Mulder & Scully of the original X-Files would have stuck it out through anything, but okay surefinewhatever.) So, do we think that will there be an attempt to actually wrap up their storylines, individually and together, and wrap up the conspiracy, bringing them back together finally, meaningfully, and for good?

    Because here is what I don’t want: another show that drags on for too long, doesn’t answer or resolve anything, and doesn’t bring them back together. As much as I love having TXF back on my TV again, I wish that they had set out to do a 10-episode miniseries that was really, truly, a limited-run event to address existing issues and give the series a proper goodbye, rather than just inventing all new problems and conspiracies and unnecessary drama. I don’t like this “oh maybe there will be more episodes we’re not sure and we don’t know how many teehee.” The way that it is now makes me worried that they don’t have a cohesive story planned out, and it’s gonna be a lot of gobbledygook that, once again, may never get resolved. And I don’t want it to be an open-ended series that just yanks our chains with this will-they-won’t-they nonsense again because we already did that, and it was wonderful, and the answer was a definitive “yes they will,” and it was perfect. I don’t want a retread. I want closure.

    So ANYWAY. In conclusion, I have a lot of thoughts, and I get too emotionally attached to fictional characters. (And if anyone actually read through all of this, I salute you!)

    • I read. I saw. I conquered.

      “You are responsible!” (which, btw, is not even helpful information to have on a sign that is supposed to be about evacuation, no wonder the homeless people didn’t go anywhere)

      I didn’t understand that at all.

      I have to say that this episode also made me think a lot more about this stupid “break-up” — which I am and always will be against because HAVE YOU EVEN SEEN THIS SHOW CHRIS CARTER — and why they chose to go that route and where it might lead, both for M&S and for the series. I’m genuinely curious, do people think that the choice to have them break up was just to “make it more interesting” (blah) and try to recapture the will-they-won’t-they magic of the original series? (Which, dumb.) Or a more conscious choice that was intended to reflect the fact that neither of their individual character arcs were wrapped up in the series in a satisfactory way that would have allowed them to be truly free and happy?

      I hope to address this more in the Wrap Up, but time is telling that CC didn’t have plans to do anything interesting with this breakup character-wise. It was merely a source of dramatic tension, and not a good one at that since it was only even barely addressed in the premiere and has been irrelevant ever since. I’m sure it’ll be touched on in the finale, but even if it is there will have been no emotional evolution. Mulder and Scully have held steady at what they always were.

      And a giant YES to your entire last paragraph. I’ve been mentally chewing that cud for a bit now, especially since it seems likely we’ll get more episodes. Season 9 is proof that more isn’t necessarily better.

  13. Great review, and yes to basically everything you said. I do wish that Maggie Scully’s death had been more than yet another plot point about William, but it was lovely to have her back, just for a moment. Her relationship with Mulder was like basically the best thing ever, especially since good old Teena didn’t seem that affectionate a mother figure, so I’m sad she didn’t get to do much more than lie in a hospital bed.

    Some other thoughts: I was glad that they finally acknowledged the existence of the fourth Scully child, who always existed in the original series but I think only appeared maybe once in a flashback, and who was almost never discussed. Also, the scene at the end, they had Maggie’s ashes with them, right? So that was her funeral? And in that case, does that mean Charlie and Bill couldn’t be bothered to attend? Wasn’t Bill already on a plane from Germany? Why didn’t he stick around for a day or two, since he’d already made the flight? I’m not too surprised, though; Bill always was the worst.

    • 1. Mulder should’ve been a dad. 2. Maggie Scully should’ve been Mulder’s mom.

      Ugh. I wanted more of them together. But I’m thrilled that that final moment was really between her and Mulder. She looked at him with such joy and clear recognition.

      And another ditto on Charlie Scully. There was actually a lot more room to explore Scully’s family when you think about it. I always wondered about Charlie.

      I’m thinking, though, that they probably already had a memorial service for Maggie and Scully was in charge of scattering her ashes. But it could also be because Bill is the worst. He always was the worst.

  14. I noticed that the episode numbers in your reviews for season 10 are a little wonky. You listed My Struggle as 1×01, Founder’s Mutation as 1×5, Mulder and Scully Meet the Were-Monster is displayed correctly as 10×3, and Home Again is displayed as 10×2. Thank you for the witty reviews.

    • Those numbers are the sequence in which they were actually filmed as compared to their air dates.

    • Yes! Thank you! My problem is that in using the production order, Wikipedia is using “1” while the fans are using “10” and my heart is betwixt and between. I need to settle on one and correct the others.

  15. Firstly. This episode = yes. Even if they did have to recycle three episodes, yes.

    I think “Season 10” makes more sense than “Season 1”. I mean if it were a full reboot, we’d not even have the same actors. Calling it season one seems to evoke a sense of betrayal for me.

  16. My favorite moment of this episode.

    Mulder: “What? I wasn’t going to shoot the kid. And I don’t do stairs anymore.”

    Scully: “Mulder, back in the day I used to do stairs and in 3 inch heels.”

    Mulder: “Back in the day…. Psshst. Back in the day is now.”

    Mulder and Scully then click on their flashlights, open a creaky steel door into the pitch black basement, and we see the agents’ brilliant blue beams of light crossing each other in the classic X pattern.

  17. Did nobody pick up on the “It wouldn’t be Philadelphia without a certain degree of confrontation, right?” line, that Mulder uses. Echoes of tattoo, no?

You Know You Want To...

